When I was a work study student…

thoughts & ramblings * of a cataloger

I did my first shift last night with a work study student, and I couldn’t have been more excited! I got my start in that very library as a work study student so I was excited to have someone to work with and someone to hopefully make a positive influence on. I usually work by myself so it was nice to have another person to talk to, who understands the library, to run to grab books off the shelf, to help answer the phone or field reference questions. Sadly she is only working two days a week with me but I could get used to this!

I want to share with you the first part of an essay I had to write for my Kent State SLIS application.

“I was soon asked where I wanted to be placed for my work study position.  I remember standing in front of a…

View original post 1,048 more words

