Just how important is description?

thoughts & ramblings * of a cataloger

I mentioned in a post I did last week that I’m working on some local Civil War research. I am finding all kinds of goodies! It is crazy the amount of things out there just waiting to be found! Just today I found a map of my county from 1858! I’m still I’m awe. I can’t stop looking at it trying to place the present day buildings on it.

Anyway last week I found a website full of videos of people in a nearby county recounting memories from their childhood. It was being shared in the CONTENTdm platform which we have at my library but I haven’t had the time to explore very much. But I know a tiny tiny bit about. So there were maybe 20-25 videos at an average of 30 minutes each and they were in an interview format. One person sitting off camera asking questions then…

View original post 384 more words

