How I Manage Going Back to School and Being A Full Time Worker

 | Marketing and Sales Coordinator at Triella Technology Transformations

Despite all of my current responsibilities, I recently made the decision to go back to school. I wanted to strengthen my knowledge of sales and marketing and so I have been attended night classes at Ryerson University in Toronto.  It’s not easy going back to school and having a full time job, here are some tips on how I have managed to have a full time job and attend school.

Time Management Is Key!

I cannot stress this enough.  This is probably the most important tip I can think of.  If you are working and going to school at the same time you must make sure to manage your time.  Unlike the days when you were a full time student with no job or a full time worker no longer in school, juggling both at the same time can be daunting but doable.  The most important thing to keep in mind is that you have responsibilities to the people at work and at school and that you uphold those responsibilities.

One of the things that I have found the most helpful is create a monthly schedule.  By planning out all of the tasks and activities to be done for work and school, I can se what needs to get done when.  That way I manage to keep up with my responsibilities and be reliable without falling behind.  While sometimes staying on schedule can be difficult, let’s face it, sometimes unexpected things come up, by trying to effectively manage your time you will be able to get a lot more done.

Do Not Take On Too Much

While some might think that trying to go to school and work at the same time means the ship has sailed in terms of taking on too much, well I guess it’s a matter of opinion.  What I mean when I say “Don’t Take On Too Much” is you have to be aware what you can handle and what you cannot.  You do not want the stress of school and work to burn you out where you will be no good at either.  Before deciding to re-enter school- while working a full time job it is important to take a step back and see if you are able to handle all the excess work that will come your way.

When I decided to re-enter school I decided it would be through Continuing Education.  By choosing this route the classes are a bit more accommodating to full time workers and the workload isn’t too bad.  I also decided to take only one course a semester.  Unlike my previous undergraduate experience a few years ago, I knew that school could not take up as much space in my life as it once did. By taking one class a semester it helped balance the workload between my job.

Study A Subject That Interests You

If you are going to make the decision to go back to school, make sure you choose a subject that interests you.  Whether or not it is to update your knowledge of your current job field or to prepare for a transition into a new field, it is important to enroll in classes that interest you.  School does not go down so well if the student dislikes the topics or fields of study.  Being able to balance school and work is a little easier if you enjoy them.

Case in point, I decided to enroll in some marketing and sales courses in order to strengthen my knowledge of the field.  I am hoping that this knowledge will allow me to perform better at my job and obtain a greater understanding of the important of sales and marketing in my company.  So far, I am thoroughly enjoying learning more about sales and marketing as it has been a field that I have enjoyed for quite some time.  Also, while holding a marketing and sales position in the workforce it has allowed me to see the real-world applications of the theories and studies discussed in the classroom much better.

Juggling school and work is a lot.  It takes hard work and dedication in order to succeed at both.  My decision to take on school again was fuelled by my desire to improve and advance myself in my job,  This mutually beneficial relationship allows me to learn more about sales and marketing while also bettering my job performance.  So for those of you thinking about stepping foot in a classroom again while working a full time job, make sure you manage your time, take on what you can handle, and study what you love.

Source (LinkedIn)

I wish you luck!

